June 24, 2014 - Tropical Cyclone Nanauk (02B) in the Arabian Sea

Tropical Cyclone Nanauk (02B) in the Arabian Sea

Tropical Cyclone Nanauk spun through the Arabian Sea in mid-June, 2014. The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite captured this true-color image of the storm on June 12 at 9:15 UTC (5:15 a.m. EDT). At that time, Nanauk had a thick cloud-filled center which was circled by a band of thunderstorms. The outer edge of the rain bands reached Oman (west) and northwest India (east). Pakistan (north) and Iran (northwest) both remained dry.

On June 12 at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT), Tropical Cyclone Nanauk was located approximately 425 nautical miles (489 miles/787 km) southeast of Muscat, Oman, near 18.3 north latitude and 63.4 east longitude. Nanauk was moving to the west at 11.5 mph (18.5 km/h). Maximum sustained winds remained near 63 mph (102 km/h).

Tropical Cyclone Nanauk began as a low pressure area over the Arabian Sea on June 9. By June 10, the storm was dubbed 02A by the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC), and by June 11 it had strengthened and was named Nanauk. Despite fighting wind shear, peak strength was reached on June 12. The storm weakened after that, and by June 13 it had lost cyclonic strength and become a depression.

Image Facts
Satellite: Aqua
Date Acquired: 6/12/2014
Resolutions: 1km (1 MB), 500m (3.3 MB), 250m (7.8 MB)
Bands Used: 1,4,3
Image Credit: Jeff Schmaltz, MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, NASA GSFC