Skip all navigation and jump to content Jump to site navigation
NASA Logo - Goddard Space Flight Center

+ NASA Homepage

    
Goddard Space Flight Center
About MODIS News Data Tools /images2 Science Team Science Team Science Team

   + Home
ABOUT MODIS
 

October 2, 2014

October 1, 2014

September 30, 2014

September 29, 2014

September 28, 2014

September 27, 2014

September 26, 2014

 

 

September 2, 2013 - Tropical Storm Ivo (09E) off Baja California
Tropical Storm Ivo (09E) off Baja California Image used for Spacing Purposes
Satellite: Aqua
Date Acquired: 8/23/2013
Resolutions: 1km (671 KB)
500m (2.2 MB)
250m (5.2 MB)
Bands Used: 1,4,3
Credit: Jeff Schmaltz
MODIS Land Rapid Response Team,
NASA GSFC

The ninth tropical depression of the Eastern Pacific Ocean hurricane season strengthened into large Tropical Storm Ivo on Aug. 23, about 8:00 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time (15:00 UTC). Five and one-half hours later, at 1:30 pm PDT (20:30 UTC) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite captured this true-color image of the storm spinning off of Baja California. At that time, Ivo had no central eye, and the surrounding clouds were widespread, but somewhat disorganized.

At 2:00 p.m. PDT (21:00 UTC) the National Hurricane Center (NHC) reported that Ivo was located at 19.5 N 111.8W, about 265 miles (425 km) south-southwest of Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Maximum sustained winds were 45 mph (75 km/h). Tropical storm force winds extended outward up to 176 mi (280 km) from the center, and Ivo was moving northwards at about 6 mph (9 km/h).

Although Ivo was not a strong storm, with maximum sustained winds only of 45 mph (75 km/h), it was a heavy soaking storm, and caused rains and flooding across Baja California, Mexico and the southwestern United States.

The NHC issued its last advisory on the system at 2 p.m. PDT (21:00 UTC) on August 25, stating that Ivo had become a large swirl of low-to mid-level clouds with weak shower activity at that time, and was bringing rain to the northern Baja California Peninsula, northwestern Mexico and the southwestern United States. Flooding from this system continued in the United States until August 26, and the system finally completely dissipated on August 28.

FirstGov logo Privacy Policy and Important Notices NASA logo

Curator: Brandon Maccherone
NASA Official: Shannell Frazier

NASA Home Page Goddard Space Flight Center Home Page